Payroll Setup > Frequently Asked Questions > How do I transfer employees from an old company to a new company?

There is currently no built-in way to do this. We recommend following the process below.

Step 1: Export employee data from the old company

You should ensure that you are working with the old company; in other words, check the name in the blue block in the top left of the screen.

  • Click on Employees > Bulk Actions > Bulk Add Employees.
  • Click on the link in “You can download the spreadsheet for adding/updating employees here“.
  • Save the file somewhere accessible.
  • Open the file and delete any rows corresponding to the employees that you do not wish to transfer.
  • Please note: you should not alter the format of the spreadsheet in any other way such as moving / deleting columns or changing headings.
  • Edit the remaining employees’ appointment dates to be the date on which they start at the new company; you can simply enter it in the first row and then copy and paste it for the other employees.
  • Save the file.

Step 2: Import data into the new company

You should ensure that you are working with the new company; in other words, check the name in the blue block in the top left of the screen.

  • Click on Employees > Bulk Actions > Bulk Add Employees.
  • Upload the file you saved in Step 1 above.
  • Verify the data and click Save.

Note: When employees need to be transferred to a new company, it is important to establish whether the new company is registered under a different PAYE number. If this is the case, the employees would need to be added with a new employment date on the new company.

Step 3: Add payroll information in bulk*

To enter information for regular items such as basic salary, click on Employees > Bulk Actions > Regular Inputs and select the relevant item from the drop down menu(s).

To enter information for once-off items such as hours worked or expense claims, click on Employees > Bulk Actions > Payslip Inputs and select the relevant item from the drop down menu(s).

*Please note: you will need to enter each item separately by selecting it from the drop-down menu(s) – do not forget to save after each set of changes.

Step 4: Enter leave take-on balances in bulk (old leave system)

This option is only available on version 1 of the leave system.

  • Click on Employees > Bulk Actions > Payslip Inputs.
  • Select “Leave Adjustment” from the third drop-down menu under Filters (it says “Basic Salary” by default).
  • Check the box under Add for each employee.
  • Enter the balances as at their last day of service with the old company for each employee for each leave type.
  • Click Save.

In newer versions of the leave system, leave take-on balances have to be entered individually. More information about this can be found in the following article:

Note: Take-on balances would only be necessary if the company is registered under the same PAYE number.

Step 5: End the service of the transferred employees in the old company

More information about how to end the service of employees can be found in the following article:

You are using the help system of SimplePay, a payroll system that simplifies the payroll process. Designed just for South Africa, it's a fully online solution. Read more.