Payroll Processing > Payment Runs

This article contains the following sections:

What is a Payment Run?

Unlike most payroll systems – where you generally have a “payroll run”, which finalises all payslips in the current period and moves everything over to the next period – on SimplePay, a payment run is merely a grouping of payslips.

The finalisation of your payroll data actually happens at the payslip level. You could, in theory, use the system without ever creating payment runs, finalising each payslip individually instead, but payment runs are a very convenient concept and allow for certain additional reports to be generated.

The advantage of SimplePay’s approach is that issues with one employee, for example waiting for a timesheet, do not have to hold up processing for the other employees. You can create a payment run that includes all employees except the one with issues and then create a second one later for the individual employee.

Bulk Finalise Payslips

Payment runs allow you to finalise your payslips in bulk instead of doing them individually. This can be done as follows:

  • Click on the Payment Runs tab and look under the Pending Payment Runs section
  • If you would like, you can Preview under all of your payslips before finalising
  • If you’re happy that your payslips are correct, click Finalise and select the employees for whom you’d like to finalise payslips – you can also click on All to finalise the entire batch.*
  • *Note that under each payslip it shows the changes from last period – this is a built-in variance report. It also shows changes to other details, like the employee’s banking details.

Create a Payment Run

Once you have finalised your payslips, either individually, or in bulk as described above, click on the Create Payment Run link for that period. As mentioned above, this process has no impact on the data or finalisation of payslips; it simply groups them and allows you to view certain reports and perform certain actions:

Release Payslips to Self-Service

SimplePay allows you to automatically email your employees’ payslips to them to access electronically. If you have this set up, creating a payment run will enable you to release the payslips to self-service – the option is selected by default and your employees will receive emails once you click Create Payment Run.

If you would like to create the payment run and release the payslips at a later stage, untick the Automatically release payslips to self-service option before clicking Create Payment Run. You will then see a Self-Service Release link on the payment run – simply click on it and then on Release when you’re ready to send the payslips to self-service.

For more information on setting up and using this feature, please see the following articles:

Reports

Once you have created the payment run, you will be able to download the following reports:

  • Single PDF containing all payslips for the run
  • Accounting report
  • Summary of nett pay values
  • 3rd party payment summary

Additional reports containing employees’ details and breakdowns of their payslip items, for example, can be downloaded from the Reports tab. Please see the following article for more information:

Accounting Info

Once you have created a payment run, you can download an accounting report in either PDF or Excel format. This contains a summary of the various expense and liability amounts relevant to the payment run and can be used to capture the information in your accounting records.

If you are making use of our accounting system integration feature, you will also be able to post this information directly to the relevant accounts.* Please see the following section for more information:

Payment Info

You will also be able to view a summary of the nett pay amounts per employee in PDF or Excel format, grouped by payment method. Where employees are paid by electronic bank transfer, you will also be able to download a bulk payment file, which you can then upload into your online banking platform.

Delete a Payment Run

In certain instances, you may need to delete a payment run; for instance, payslips cannot be unfinalised if they are part of a payment run. You can do this by navigating to the relevant payment run and clicking on Delete.

Deleting a payment run does not unfinalise payslips or alter any of the amounts they contain; it simply ungroups them, allowing you to make changes if necessary.

*Please note: if you have posted accounting information, this post will be reversed when the payment run is deleted.  If you are using the advanced accounting option and have multiple posts per payment run, each one will need to be deleted by clicking the  next to it before the payment run can be deleted.

Bulk Undo Finalise of Payslips

As previously mentioned, payment runs do not imply finalisation of payslips, so when you delete a payment run, the payslips it contained are still finalised. However, after deleting the payment run, the finalised payslips will appear again under Pending Payment Runs. You can unfinalise them in bulk by clicking on Undo Finalise.

Please note: This option should only be used if you are sure that you need to make changes to all of the payslips in the run. If you are at all unsure, or you know you only need to edit one / a few payslips, please DO NOT use this option – you should rather go to each employee’s profile and click on Undo Finalise on the relevant payslip.

Once you have made the necessary changes, you can follow the process(es) outlined in the sections above.

You are using the help system of SimplePay, a payroll system that simplifies the payroll process. Designed just for South Africa, it's a fully online solution. Read more.